Daydreamer Award

https://thatanxiousmom.files.wordpress.com/2015/03/day-dreamer-award.jpg?w=584

I am humbled to have received the Daydreamers award from Breaking the Cycle. It gives me an opportunity to answer a soul-searching question and then pass it on to another. The question is: Tell us about one change you’ve made to yourself, and how you went about making it happen.  Is it a daily battle or is it second nature?  How did this change alter your relationships, life, way of thinking, acting, and feeling.  Did it lead to increased contentment?

 Wow! Never really thought about it. I have made many changes in my life in the last couple of years making my life better, easier, and more manageable. I am much happier now with who I am and who I’ve become… It is just difficult to say when it all took place exactly or how it happened.

I use to a pleaser; otherwise, I felt guilty. I tried to please everyone and it left me drained…   It was hard for me to say, “No”…   I was always doing things for others while trying to do things for me and it left me miserable. I was searching for something to bring me happiness and people were just taking advantage of my vulnerability. I don’t blame them, I allowed it. It was my own doing, but this I comprehend now, not then.

Then, one day someone handed me a book called, “There is a River by Edgar Cayce” and my real quest began…

I got involved in meditation and prayer and began to feel content for the first time in my life… I started to comprehend that gratification comes from within and not from outside ourselves. Something can bring instant pleasure, but once it wears off, then what! You are left in the same hole as before… I started to ask myself tough questions and slowly began to get rid of all those hang-ups, people, places, and things that truly did not bring me joy. Answers just started to flow from above or within. Not sure where it was coming from, but I was grateful.

It was difficult at first because I had to face all my fears, doubts, and guilt and cut ties with friends and family that were doing more damage than good, but in the end, it was the right choice for me… I had to make changes and make conscious decisions to surround myself with like-minded individuals and always try to be true to myself.

When people ask me how they get the happy disposition, I always say: Meditate, meditate, meditate… With meditation comes confidence and answers… If I stop meditating my entire body/life goes out of whack and my kids could attest to that… It takes dedication and work, but the benefits are wonderful…

Meditating/chanting/praying twenty minutes a day is life changing…   I can’t emphasize it enough… If you truly want change in your life try it for a month or two without breaking the cycle and see where it leads…

Now it is time for the paying it forward.  I nominate Jennifer Nichole and Cee.  If you choose to accept the award all you have to do is answer the same questions as me…

 

Copyright 2015 – All rights reserved – Lori Bravo

About lumar1298

Love to read, write, and meditate. I Also have a creative side. I enjoy crafting and designing and when I want action, then I dance.
This entry was posted in Weekly Challange and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Daydreamer Award

  1. cardamone5 says:

    Wow, Lor. This is amazing. I think I will try meditation based on your post, and how it changed your life. Do you chant, or just sit in silence?

    Love,
    E

    Like

    • lumar1298 says:

      I meditate to the sounds from Tom Kenyon. You can either buy the cd or load it to your devide from the web site. I chant on my drive home from work when I’m feeling out of sorts and the chant I use kind of gives me power. It is: Nam-myoho-renge-kyo which is a Buddist chant. Good luck and stick with it. Let me know how you feel after a month of doing it on a daily basis.

      Like

  2. For most my life I’ve been a people pleaser as well, so I know how draining it can be. Good for you for making the changes you needed to make and for finding something that works for you.

    Thank you for nominating me for this. I actually just wrote a post in response and I’m trying to find the courage to post it. The last few years have come with some significant changes,so I’m deciding whether I’m ready to discuss everything or not. Whether I post or not, I think writing everything out has been a good experience for me, so thank you in any case.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cee Neuner says:

    Hi Lori, such a wonderful post. Thanks for much for sharing with everyone. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. prospermind says:

    This is quite a good read! Great post! 🙂

    Like

A penny for your thought...

