Kusadasi Experience

I had never heard of Kusadasi until this trip…  I loved the port and what the city has to offer… 

Kusadasi has become popular for cruise ships and holiday makers with lots of hotels and beautiful beaches…  The countryside is also spectacular… 

We visited the ruins of Ephesus which was a wealthy port in the 3rd century AD.  Use to be the Gateway to Asia…  Partly destroyed by an earthquake in the 6th century AD, but we can see its beauty from what remains…

Another place we visited while in Kusadasi was a Turkish weaving school.  They use cotton, wool, and also silk.  It was fascinating to see how the cocoons are turned into threads for weaving.  The cocoon is place in boiling water.  Then, it is mixed with a short broom like spoon until the threads come apart.  It is pulled up and over to a threading machine.  The girls begin to work on the rug which takes up to two years to make…  Much more appreciation for the rugs…

Sight from the ship…

About lumar1298

Love to read, write, and meditate. I Also have a creative side. I enjoy crafting and designing and when I want action, then I dance.
This entry was posted in Trips and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Kusadasi Experience

  1. Oh what great photographs….you must be having such a wonderful time!!…

    Like

  2. Mystic says:

    What gorgeous pics. I’ve added another place to my must-visit list after seeing this blog post.

    Like

  3. aishasoasis says:

    What a wonderful visit, Lor! I love the ancient ruins, but the silk cocoons are really fascinating, I’ve never seen this before! Wow, I really have more respect for the oriental rug weavers after seeing this! ♥♥♥ ;^)

    Like

A penny for your thought...

