My New Toy

CanonI finally purchased a better camera, but it’s been sitting next to my computer for over a month…  I’ve been looking at it and I’ve told myself I need to get going, but I think I found it a little intimidating…

I decided today was “the” day.  I took the day off and began my research and studying…  Yuk…  I found no excuses…  Everything in my house is done including laundry and shopping… 

I have to admit, I didn’t study all that much…  I went on YouTube and saw a tutorial which was pretty helpful, but there are way too many things to learn in one day.  I opted to using the automatic settings for now until I learn to maneuver that part and then I’ll play around with the manual settings…  I need to learn all the buttons; otherwise, I will never get it right…

So here are but a few of the test pictures I took out back…

At first, I couldn’t see the difference from one camera to the other, but then I noticed the colors are more vibrant and also, I can blur objects from the picture which could not be done with the cyber-shot… 

Overall, I think I made a good investment.  Let’s see if I stop being afraid and venture out of my comfort zone…

 

Here’s a bit of humor for you…♥

Why did Mr. and Mrs. Werewolf call their son Camera?
Because he was always snapping.

 

Doctor, doctor, I’ve just swallowed the film from my camera. Well, let’s hope nothing develops.

 

John Sheckler, a former photographer for the Standard Times in New Bedford, MA, said this when asked how many photographers does it take to screw in a light bulb. – “Only one. However, it takes two editors and three reporters to decide if the bulb should be turned clockwise or counter-clockwise or just shoved in.”

 

A photographer from a well know national magazine was assigned to cover the fires at Yellowstone National Park. The magazine wanted to show some of the heroic work of the fire fighters as they battled the blaze. When the photographer arrived, he realized that the smoke was so thick that it would seriously impede or make it impossible for him to photograph anything from ground level. He requested permission to rent a plane and take photos from the air. His request was approved and arrangements were made. He was told to report to a nearby airport where a plane would be waiting for him. He arrived at the airport and saw a plane warming up near the gate. He jumped in with his bag and shouted, “Let’s go!” The pilot swung the little plane into the wind, and within minutes they were in the air. The photographer said, “Fly over the park and make two or three low passes so I can take some pictures.” “Why?” asked the pilot. “Because I am a photographer,” he responded, “and photographers take photographs.” The pilot was silent for a moment; finally he stammered, “You mean you’re not the flight instructor?”

 

The quickest way to make money at photography is to sell your camera…

About lumar1298

Love to read, write, and meditate. I Also have a creative side. I enjoy crafting and designing and when I want action, then I dance.
This entry was posted in Jokes, On my Mind and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to My New Toy

  1. Anticipation to see your new photos.Beautiful camera.

    Like

    • lumar1298 says:

      Thank you, Jalal… But now it’s an ordeal to learn to use it. I’m not gadget savvy… When it comes to computers, iPads, phones, etc. not too great at it… I struggle with every new invention… And my kids live far so it doesn’t make it easier on me… Actually, they tease me constantly…
      Have a great night…

      Like

  2. Lisa U says:

    Gorgeous photos. I look forward to seeing more!

    Like

  3. Connie T says:

    I have a Nikon D80 but only use it on auto. I can’t get nice pictures on manual mode.

    Like

  4. I also am glad you put you gear together and stepped up to your subject. Well done very nice work! I will hunt my local pawn shops for some deals

    Like

    • lumar1298 says:

      You know… I should have done that… I probably would have found a much better deal… I do love it… I’m still trying to figure things out, but I’m using it more now…

      Like

      • When I was gifted a Nikon this fall I freaked too many things to learn but then I saw me grow and play and have fun. In the end we can not love what we do if there is no fun so have lots of it and thanks for always LIKING my posts I am so bad at keeping up but when I can I try to stop in to those who do on mine. Too bad you did not live in New England we could go shoot something as you like the same things as me 🙂

        Like

      • lumar1298 says:

        Yeah… Too bad… I need a shooting buddy… All my friends laugh at me & don’t get this blog thing, but I enjoy it and that’s what counts… I use to live in Jersey and my daughter would live for me to move back, but after all this snow, heck no… I’ll stay in the heat…

        Like

A penny for your thought...

