Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks

Are you comfortable in front of people, or does the idea of public speaking make you want to hide in the bathroom?

Scared Turtle

OMG!  You have no idea how I get whenever I’m chosen to speak in front of a group of people.  All the rules of public speaking go right out the window for me.  I get jittery, nervous, and my voice begins to crack…  I start loud and by the middle of the speech, no one can hear what I’m saying.  I cannot control the volume in my voice and make it higher.  It is terrible…

I practice and practice, but then something happens when I see everyone in front of me and I forget everything I studied and practiced for.  I basically have to read from my notes almost word for word and then I do not dare to look up. Many things are going through my mind at this point.  The best one is, “They must think I’m a dummy”…

My co-workers cannot comprehend since I can carry a conversation well.  As long it is not up in a podium, I’m fine.  I’ve tried explaining that it is something greater than me that over powers my being…  I simply freak out… 

Classes do not help either.  I’ve tried public speaking classes and I even joined Toastmaster, but instead of getting better, I get worse… 

I know what I’m capable off and I try to keep things small and simple.  I don’t try to be or do something I’m not qualified to handle. In other words, I sort of gave up on this one after years of trying…

That scared turtle picture says it all…

About lumar1298

Love to read, write, and meditate. I Also have a creative side. I enjoy crafting and designing and when I want action, then I dance.
This entry was posted in Weekly Challange and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks

  1. Pingback: Hitting the Switch | Cheri Speak

  2. Pingback: Am I really comfortable in front of people? | Rob's Surf Report

  3. Pingback: Black Socks Down | Edward Hotspur

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: I Don’t Have A Problem Telling It To Your Face… With A Smile | Molly Greye

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Public | imexcited

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Naked with Black Socks | Joe's Musings

  8. Pingback: Breaking a sweat around the room | Escaping a Daydream

A penny for your thought...

