Daily Prompt: Viral – Work in Progress

I’ve been thinking about the Daily Prompts and I always say such wonderful things about myself.  I thought this deserved an explanation…  I didn’t get up one morning and I was perfect…   It has taken years to get to where I am.  Years of really peeling layers and layers of guilt, jealousy, envy, etc. out of me and forgiving those that have hurt me and also (very important) forgiving myself for those I’ve hurt…  In order to be all I can be, I needed to learn to know who I was/am and love myself more…

I’m not perfect.  I’m far from it…  There are days where I can get out of bed because of the aches and pains and I can’t see the light in the dreary day, but I refuse to let it get me down.  I make a conscious choice to see the beauty where there is darkness…  I refuse to let people get me down…  And I’m sure not bending backward to help someone who doesn’t deserve it…

It is not my problem if someone is hurtful and doesn’t like me… It’s their dilemma and not mine to take on…  Doesn’t mean that when something nasty is said, it doesn’t automatically hurt me!  What I try to do is to let it go…  I don’t want to build karma and have to relieve the experience again until I get it right.  I make a choice at that moment and move on.

I am a giving person, but I give to those I want to and deserve a little happiness…  I don’t go around trying to get approval for gifts and what not…  I give out of the goodness of my heart and if someone feels left out, that is not my problem but theirs…

My parents made many mistakes and I made plenty with my kids, but guilt is not an option…  I chose to forgive “me” and “others” for all the wrong doings.  My parents never hurt me to the point of abuse, but if that were the case, I would forgive and divorce them…  I don’t have to associate with anyone that does harm to me…  I’ve had to let go of many friendships/family that were only doing more damage than good…  Move away and don’t look back…  I surround myself with people who uplift me and not the other way around…

I do things for myself and not because I have to…  If it feels right to me then I go ahead and do whatever it is…  If it doesn’t feel right then no one will change my mind.  I’ve learned to trust my intuition and refuse to be misguided…  Sometimes, I bend the rules a little depending on the circumstance or person, but for the most part, I stick to what feels right…

Life is what we make of it…  Can be always difficult and full of drama or nice and peaceful…  It is our choice alone and no one else’s how we choose to live our life.  At some point, we have to stop blaming our parents, society, etc. and take our life into our own hands…  We alone can do it…  We come into this world alone and we go back into infinity alone…  Don’t wait for that special someone/teacher to come along to make changes in your life, get up and start peeling and learning who you truly are.  If you don’t like what you see then change it…  It’s that simple…  Look within and you will find all your answers…  Take control now and don’t try to change others only yourself…

I’m a work in progress…  I’m not done yet, I still struggle with my ego on a daily basis, but now, I’m aware and with this awareness comes responsibility…  I have free will to make changes in my life…  I’m taking baby steps to my perfection and no one else can do it for me…

Nameste…

red-poppy-flowers

About lumar1298

Love to read, write, and meditate. I Also have a creative side. I enjoy crafting and designing and when I want action, then I dance.
This entry was posted in On my Mind and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Daily Prompt: Viral – Work in Progress

  1. Pingback: Photo opportunity | Life & Times

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt:Viral | Motherhood and Beyond

  3. Pingback: Mommy Guilt | jennifermarshcurtis

  4. gardengirl92 says:

    That is a beautifully written post and each thought shows a lot of insight into yourself and people in general. Everything you said holds true for me too. Life is a journey and too short to hold on to all that negative. May you have peace always. 🙂

    Like

  5. Pingback: The Race is On | Andante Cantabile

  6. Pingback: The First Kiss Went A Little Like This | Molly Greye

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Viral | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  8. Pingback: The First Kiss Went A Little Like This | Nusantara Daily

  9. Pingback: The First Time I Saw You | A mom's blog

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Viral | My Atheist Blog

  11. Pingback: Cutting a swathe through the Literary Body! | alienorajt

  12. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Viral | Joe's Musings

  13. Pingback: A Message to the World | Eyes Through The Glass - A Blog About Asperger's

  14. Pingback: Is music really all that great? | Rob's Surf Report

  15. Pingback: A Singular Life | The Silver Leaf Journal

  16. Pingback: Remembering you | Natasha's Memory Garden

  17. Pingback: EVERYTHING ENDS | hastywords

  18. Christel says:

    Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to your blog before but after browsing through some
    of the articles I realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m certainly delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking it
    and checking back frequently!

    Like

  19. A beautifully thoughtful and revealing look at your journey. Thanks for sharing so honestly. I’m a work in progress and strive to share insights from my journey too. Thanks, Brad

    Like

  20. lulu says:

    We are all works in progress. It’s good to know we can always improve who we are and not be stuck in place.

    Like

  21. Livonne says:

    The hardest thing we can do is learn to forgive ourselves. Thanks for sharing

    Like

    • lumar1298 says:

      We seem to be very hard on ourselves, but what we have to realize is that we’re not perfect and we make mistakes… Hopefully, we learn from them and that in itself changes our outlook… Thanks for stopping by…

      Like

A penny for your thought...

