Daily Prompt: Say Your Name

Write about your first name: Are you named after someone or something? Are there any stories or associations attached to it? If you had the choice, would you rename yourself?

Lourdes

It’s sort of a funny story how I got my name.  I was supposed to be named Susan, but I was on born our Lady of Lourdes, February 11th and the nurses at the hospital told my mother that Saint Lourdes was a very miraculous saint and she should name me after the saint.  It didn’t take much for my mom to be convinced so I was named Lourdes.  No middle name just Lourdes. 

I was going to change my name to Lori because that’s what I’m called, but my mother made such a big sting about it that I opted on leaving it alone… Not worth the aggravation it would bring her…

One good thing is that my name got famous with the birth of Madona’s baby and she wasn’t even born on Lady of Lourdes…

About lumar1298

Love to read, write, and meditate. I Also have a creative side. I enjoy crafting and designing and when I want action, then I dance.
This entry was posted in Weekly Challange and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Daily Prompt: Say Your Name

  1. quite interesting… so pretty… I think…

    Like

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Say Your Name | MKG- Memories-Keepsakes-Gifts

  3. My name is Mia. I wouldn’t change it even though it is suddenly so very popular. I wasn’t named after anyone. I always tell people that my mom is just possessive as it means “Mine” in Spanish lol. My dad went along with it, so I suppose he was the same. 😉

    Like

    • lumar1298 says:

      I like Mia… You know! I never really thought about the meaning, but you are right. I don’t think at this point I will be changing mine… I got the urge at eighteen…

      Like

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Say Your Name | To Breathe is to Write

A penny for your thought...

