Daily Prompt: Helping Hand

Tell us about the most surprising helping hand you’ve ever received.

Long long time ago, I was a single mom, working full-time, and a student. I was going out with a group of friends to dinner one evening and asked my kids what they wanted to have for supper. They didn’t want a home cooked meal, but rather burgers and fries from McDonald’s.
It had been raining for the past week or so and this evening was no different. I bundled up since it was a chilly night and off I went. On the way back, there was a road block, but part of the road was opened so I figured it would be fine to go through. Straight ahead three blocks down was my home and I didn’t want to go around the long way. It was a dark night and started driving in very cautiously, but I still couldn’t see a few feet ahead… To my surprise the brook had overflowed and when I realized what was happening, my car shut off and started to head towards the brook. I started to scream and managed to get out with water reaching my neck and all I grabbed in my haste was the soda. I walked home soaking wet and crying hysterical. My poor children. Can’t imagine what was going through their minds when they saw me like this.
 I spent the entire night and part of Sunday crying. I had just started working in a new job and didn’t know anyone I could call for a ride. I had no credit and no money. My family were all in Florida and I couldn’t just call out of the blue to ask for a couple of thousand. I was inconsolable. By the end of the weekend, my son didn’t know what to do with me and phoned his dad. To my surprise, he got on the phone with me and told me to stop crying that he would go out the following day and purchase a car for me and I would be able to go work by Tuesday…
I never expected my ex-husband to come through for me like that. I thank God every day for answering my prayer and for sending me this angel when I needed it the most.

road closed

About lumar1298

Love to read, write, and meditate. I Also have a creative side. I enjoy crafting and designing and when I want action, then I dance.
This entry was posted in Weekly Challange and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Daily Prompt: Helping Hand

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Special Helping Hands | My Daily Prompt Blog

  2. Pingback: A Communist Pig Gets A Helping Hand From Capitalist Bully | The Jittery Goat

  3. Lily Mugford says:

    A beautiful story…Angel’s come in many ways, even an ex..

    Like

  4. what a frightening experience, i am so afraid of water generally and your well written account of water up to your neck…..i guess we just never know when the universe will grant us that smile, good on your ex.

    just thought i’d visit a bit to thank you for liking sad way on 20 Lines, encouragement is always appreciated. 🙂

    Like

A penny for your thought...

